Some questions

Pana

Some questions

Post by Pana » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:09 pm

I've been musing about this for the past six months. Keep in mind that I am not an economics person so my terms are probably not correct but hopefully I'll get the gist of it over.

Prior to the mass industrialization that took place over the last few hundred years, what was the economy before that based on? Did it play as big of a part then as it seems to now (i.e. influence on other economies). Prior to industrialization people largely did without or made their own/grew their own. So what fueled the economy. The economy as reflected in the different stages of a countries development. Like prior to the revolution in France when it was a monarchy. Or like in Canada before the surge in industrialization?

Is a world economy just a modern phenomenon? Or would spice trade, silk trade, tea trade a few hundred years ago also be considered a world economy?
“Integrity has no need of rules.”

-Albert Camus

Egg

Re: Some questions

Post by Egg » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:19 pm

It was just manual labor as opposed to machine labor in cities and industry. Labor was more specialized.

The standard of living and world population increased with industrialization.

But, yes, trade was huge. The East India Company out of Britain is a good example.

Trade in resources has been big forever really.

Egg

Post by Egg » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:22 pm

Think of it this way, colonialism was a HUGE part of the western european economies. Look into mercantalism and colonialism as those were the economic processes following feudalism.

Dr Exile

Post by Dr Exile » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:24 pm

Pana,

Read about the Hanseatic League, cir 1150 AD.

A somewhat tolerable article can be found here:

http://depts.washington.edu/baltic/papers/hansa.html
Credo quia absurdum.

Pana

Post by Pana » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:25 pm